King John’s Castle – on King’s Island.
The Castle, situated on ‘King’s Island’ in the heart of medieval Limerick City, overlooks the majestic river Shannon and was built between 1200 and 1210. It has since been repaired and extended many times and now houses an interpretative centre containing an imaginative historical exhibition, telling the story of the Castle.
The courtyard and the Castle display some of the trades and traditions of the 16th Century and visitors can enjoy panoramic views of Limerick City and the surrounding countryside. To protect and maintain Norman power in Limerick and unster. Today it is restored and open to the public. Archaeological excavations have revealed pre-Norman settlements and evidence from the traumatic siege of 1642.